Turmeric Homemade Mask

Over the past four months that I have been away, a lot has changed. For starters, I’m healthy conscience (to an extent) and secondly I’ve adopted the simple act of wearing hijab (hopefully it’s stays like this).
If you don’t know, I’m not your regular health freak but I’m very particular about what I consume so my skin can look as flawless as all these beauty gurus we see (but the struggle is real). Depending on what we eat, our body will react to it. 

For instance, here are 5 Foods that are the cause of bad skin:

  • Sugar- by cutting out sugar from your diet, redness and inflammation on your skin will reduce. 
  • Dairy- causes hard, painful, underground blemishes that linger for weeks on the chin, jaw line, and the neck area, aka cystic breakouts. This means that your body is getting more dairy than it can tolerate. Your skin tries to get rid of toxins that your body does not agree with, so when you take in too much dairy, it comes out in the form of cystic blemishes in the lower area of the face.
  • Caffeine- Caffeine drinks dehydrate you, and that can make your skin more prone to sagging and wrinkles. If you can’t go without it, make sure to drink the recommended eight glasses of water daily to keep your body and skin hydrated.
  • Processed foods- these are made with additives and preservatives. This causes your hormones to stimulate excessive oil production, thus clogging  the pores and aging the skin.
  • Shellfish- Shrimp, crab, and lobster are high in iodine, which can lead to clogged pores and acne. A better option is fish, which contains omega fatty acids that help improve your skin

My weekly homemade facial: 

Recently, I was skipping through snap stories when I came across a skin care blogger, who featured the tumeric face mask on her account. And like always, I had to try it! 

I always start off with steaming my face as this opens up my pores. This allows my masks to be more effective and I’m guaranteed a pleasing result.

  • Green tea steamer

This green tea steamer makes your skin feel more rejuvenated than the normal boiled water steamer. And it’s as simple as mixing boiling water with a green tea teabag. Due to the fact that I am a bipolar green tea addict, I have managed to get my hands on pure green tea leaves that emanate a stronger smell. About half a teaspoon of green tea leaves would be perfect. 

  • Turmeric mask

This homemade diy has been past down for generations until it got to the stage, where we were embarrassed to use it and much rather buy the ‘inexpensive’ face masks that range from 3 to 5 times the price of the homemade ingredients. Over the past year, homemade remedies have become largely popular and therefore placing brands in a toughie. 


    Ingredients: 

    • 1 tsp flour
    • 1 tsp honey
    • 1tbsp milk
    • Turmeric 

    Mix all the above ingredients together and apply to the face. Remove once the mask is completely dry. 

    • The mask should be applied at least once a week. 

    “After trying this face mask on the first day, my skin felt so good. It was helpful in the sense that my acne calmed down and my skin felt rather smooth. It also served as an excellent exfoliator and within 2 days my acne was nearly cured.”

    It’s definitely worth it! 

    One thought on “Turmeric Homemade Mask

    Leave a Reply

    